Club Championship
25th Oct, 2015

The Riverland Cycling Club held their club championships with a three stage event over two days.
First race on the agenda was a 50 km out and back ride on the notorious Murtho road course. After a gentle start the pace heated up. All the big names were taking turns on the front with Matthew Benson, Lee Stevens, Steve Jaensch, Peter Schammer and Shane Pittman all keeping the pace on with Lee Rasheed coming through to show he was up for the race. Dennis Robinson was hanging on well with the lead group while Peter Weston and Clayton Bond were off the back early. Clayton was competing in his first Club Championship against some seasoned contenders and did extremely well to cover the 50 km’s. At the halfway point of the outward leg Benson dropped his bombs on the peleton with an attack, Stevens chased hard but could not bridge the gap. With Benson gone and his attack dropping some of the riders it was up to Stevens, Pittman, Jaensch and Shammer to take up the chase of the lone leader. It was all to no avail as Benson soloed to victory, Stevens attacked the remainder of the peleton with only Pittman able to go with him but couldn’t out sprint him on the line. Jaensch led home Schammer for fourth and fifth places. Lee Rasheed put in a 35 km time trial effort for sixth place. Dennis Robinson outsprinted Clayton Bond and Peter Weston to round out the final placings.

The second stage is a 9.6km Individual Time Trial around the famous Winkie Circuit. Riders started in reverse order of their finishing place in the road race, with 1 minute intervals between riders. Pete Weston led the way followed by Clayton Bond, Dennis Robinson, Lee Rasheed and Peter Schammer. With Steve Jaensch a scratching from this event next to go was Shane Pittman with Lee Stevens 1 minute behind and Matthew Benson last away 1 minute behind Stevens. Despite his best effort Benson couldn’t break the course record but was still fastest on the day with a time of 13:21.32. With Stevens the only other rider to finish inside of 15 minutes. Rasheed, Schammer and Pittman were next fastest in that order with Rasheed recording a PB time of 15:55.92. Filling the final three places were Dennis Robinson, Peter Weston and Clayton Bond. Clayton in his first Winkie TT now has a PB time to beat next year.

Last race on the agenda is the Monash Criterium, 45 minutes of pain and torture with up hill, down hill, headwind, crosswind and tailwinds. Benson and Stevens jumped early and looked like they were headed for a long breakaway. Stevens couldn’t handle the pace with Benson and eventually dropped off and re-joined with Pittman and Schammer. Benson cleaned up the Criterium with Stevens taking second, Pittman third and Schammer fourth. Lee Rasheed doing his third “Time Trial” soloed home for fifth place followed by Dennis Robinson, Peter Weston and Clayton Bond.

Club Championship 2015 results
Matthew Benson 1 1 13:21.32 1 1
Lee Stevens 2 2 14:00.48 2 2
Shane Pittman 3 5 15:59.50 3 3
Peter Schammer 5 4 15:57.33 4 4
Lee Rasheed 6 3 15:55.92 5 5
Dennis Robinson 7 6 16:45.24 6 6
Peter Weston 8 7 17:53.46 7 7
Clayton Bond 9 8 18:05.49 8 8
Steve Jaensch 4 DNS - DNS