Barmera Lakeside Handicap
13th Dec, 2015

Perfect conditions greeted twelve keen and eager riders for the Riverland Cycling Clubs Barmera Handicap. Despite the best efforts of the group the conditions stayed this way for the duration of the race.
    First off was Matthew Benson with a 60km solo race in front of him. Next away was Terry Bond and Glenn O’Brien at 3 minutes with 50km to cover and two minutes behind them were Angelo Ylia, Frank Sullivan, Ruth Strout and Dennis Robinson also racing for 50km. Setting off at 11 minutes was the dynamic duo of Lee Rasheed and Steve Jaensch. On his own at 19 minutes was Tyler Stevens racing for 30km with Brailey Jachmann and Brayden Rasheed departing at 24 minutes.
       The duo of Terry Bond and Glenn O’Brien were quickly reeled in by the chasing group of Ylia, Sullivan, Strout and Robinson forming a large working peloton. The Dynamic Duo of Lee Rasheed and Steve Jaensch chased down the Peloton and set about charging for home. Out front Tyler Stevens rode hard all day to solo home for the victory closely followed by Brayden Rasheed in second place and Brailey Jachmann rounding out the podium. Matthew Benson worked hard all day to claim fourth place and fastest average speed at 38km/hour. In the race for fifth place Steve Jaensch pipped Lee Rasheed in a sprint for the line. Frank Sullivan led home the peloton for 7th followed by Dennis Robinson in 8th. Terry Bond worked hard all day for 9th with Ruth Strout in 10th, Angelo Ylia in 11th and Glenn O’Brien rounding out the racing for 12th place. 


1st Tyler Stevens
nd Brayden Rasheed
rd Brailey Jachmann
th Matthew Benson (Fastest time)
th Steve Jaensch
th Lee Rasheed
th Frank Sullivan
th Dennis Robinson
th Terry Bond
th Ruth Strout
th Angelo Ylia
th Glen O'Brien